Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6'6" Addvance or 6'6" Potatonator

Howdy,

Been on a 6'10" Addvance for several years and it's a great board! Interested in going shorter but keeping the same characteristics of good float, easy paddling good performance. Since I have a lot of experience with the Addvance I was thinking of going down to the 6'6 but saw the 6'6' Potatonator. Which model would be a better choice?

Also, I'm 42 5'8" 205 and surf South of Brownsville, Texas which is mostly windblown dumpy surf.

Thank you for any feedback

Hey Tex,
    My opinion is that you go with the addvance here. I think if you are liking the Addvance and want just a little more control and performance, a smaller version of the same board would do the trick. You can get great float from the Potatonator and a different kind of ride, but it may not feel as versatile as the Addvance. On the days where there is a little more size/punch, the Potatonator becomes a little more difficult to surf while the Addvance will excel.

I suppose if you are planning on keeping the Addvance, you could make the argument that a Potatonator would open your quiver up a bit more, but its kind of a preference call...

Comment

Thanks for the information Chris.

I've been a thruster rider for a long time and never have experimented with a quad set up. Currently run the Futures Solus fins and enjoy them. What quad fins have worked on the Addvance and maybe some different thruster options that I might try.

Thanks

Comment

Gudday Tex,

If you are playing around with fins sounds like you enjoy experimenting a bit. The Addvance is a great board and Chris is far more informed than me to make a recommendation, but don't be hold back if you want to try something else. Just don't sell the Addvance !!