X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6'6 or 6'10

I am a relative beginner with one year's experience mostly on mini mals and more recently a 9' long board. I am 6'1, 165 and looking for a step down board for a wide variety of conditions. I tried a 6'4 Dominator recently, but to be honest struggled quite a bit, especially if the waves were smaller. A friend loved it and I've sold it to him. I'm pretty sure the Addvance is the right board, just not sure if I should go straight to the 6'6? Any advice?

if u struggled on a 6'4, u'd probably want to go w/ a 6'10. the 6'10 ADD can handle big and small stuff, but works best chest high+. i've ridden mine for a while now and wud only get a 6'6 if the waves r pumping and i wudnt have to deal w/ a lot of big boards. the 6'10 paddles like a 9'0 to me, but is very versatile in different conditions, crowds, performance, etc...

Comment

I'm pretty much a beginner moving to intermediate and I have the 6' 10" (only taken it out once).

Wondering what would be the benefits of going 6' 6"? As far as I know it's tough to duck dive the 6' 6" anyways, seems like it's better to go a little bigger if anything rather than too small.

So my feeling is the 6' 10" too, however I'm not the most experienced surfer so feel free to disregard this advice!

Comment

@reserves, if you can paddle, catch waves, and surf decent, get a Potato, Pnator, or dominator...a lot more fun! :D

ALOHA!!

Comment

• reserves
          reserves commented
          Editing a comment
          I'm not sure if this is meant for me or dinarobin, I'm not good enough to make the most of my Addvance at the mo, but would love to get a Potato sometime in the future