Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Board Selection Help

Hey Riders,

Hope you can help me figure out my next board. I'm really struggling on my own. It seems difficult to figure out a good transition board without having the knowledge to do so. Every board is so different the choices seem endless.

I ride mostly a point break with waist to chest high waves. I'm 6'-2" (188cm) and 160lbs (73kgs) and somewhat agile. My primary sport is windsurfing and I took up surfing for non windy days to help improve my wave riding skills.

After spending a year on an 8-0 softtop cheapo board to learn some basics, I've been riding for three years on an epoxy noserider shaped log 9-2 x 22.5 x 3.38. The board is heavy and stiff but very stable. It's been a good platform for learning and fun to ride. My take offs are pretty consistent and I want to start to get more movement in my riding beyond just going straight down the line. I can make very gradual turns if I need to make the next section or avoid another surfer but it's a slow maneuver at best. I'm sure my stance could use some improvement as well as my ability to move about the board.

My biggest complaint is that the board is just plain slow. Also if I'm on a steeper wave and have a late takeoff it sometimes gets very challenging (scary), same for surfing a beach break. Plus I'd like a bit shorter board for easier transport. I like the epoxy for its durability. I want a board that will give me a good wave count for small size waves so ease of paddling is really important but also more flexibility to improve my riding skills. I mostly want one board to do it all. I know that's a tall order.

Is it better to get a higher performance longboard in the 8-0 to 9-0 range or move to a more hybrid funboard shape like the ADDvance?