Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6'6 Addvance vs 6'4 Pnator

Hi there,

I am looking to buy my wife a new (surprise) board. She is a beginner, riding small green waves (2-4ft) and going both directions but not really doing turns yet, her dims are 5’4” and 125lbs. When we used to live in Sydney, we went out maybe 2-3 times a month.

Her old board was some random 6’10 fun shape, not sure how much science went into selecting that one :-). Using the volume calculator, a range of 46-55 litres (beginner) is recommended, but dropping down to 31-38 litres (beginner/intermediate). If comparing this with the short board buyers guide on surfshopsaustralia, it states 38 litres only for a beginner with 125lbs.

So I am settling for something in the middle (given that she isn’t an absolute beginner), and have now laid eyes on either a 6’6 Addvance or a 6’4 Potatonator, both with 48 litres volume.

Both boards get a lot of really good reviews, with the Addvance being much closer to her previous board shape and being praised for its versatility. The Potatonator looks amazing, but probably requires a change in riding technique (standing back). On the other hand, the PN might give her more potential to “grow” whereas the Addvance will probably get her wave count up first and be an easy transition (after having not surfed for quite a while).

I am just confused as on surfshopsaustralia, the Addvance is not being recommended for beginner or intermediates and only being given a 7 for paddle power and 6 for stability while the PN gets 9 for paddling and 8 for stability. On the other hand, the Addvance gets 6 for control while the PN only gets 3.

I would rate paddle power and stability the most important aspects for her though.