X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this cause for concern?

So I ordered myself a new 6'4" FST Alternator recently and have had 6 sessions on it so far. Only issue is after only these 6 sessions there is a considerable foot well in the deck of the board. I don't mean just a heel dent, I'm talking a foot well that has distorted the profile of the deck considerably. I noticed it out on the water and had a closer look at the profile when I came in.

Now you might say I'm just heavy on the feet but I also own a 6'6" FST Alternator which I bought second hand (the older 2.5" model). I have been riding the 6'6" non stop for the past 6 months (up til the purchase of my 6'4") and cannot even see a discernable foot well on this board at all.

It just seems odd that after 6 months of riding on the one board and only 6 sessions on the other that I have encountered this. Should I be at all concerned by this?

Cheers,

Fozzy

Pretty normal for the RF to develop a footwell. The high density foam of the FST has a higher impact strength. The RF board has a denser core though so it won't sink much more than it has already. I've got a Spitfire that's 20 months old and has been surfed a lot, the foot well developed fairly soon but hasn't really worsened over time.

Comment

yeah that is good insight prj. that is how mine have gone as well.

Comment

It isn't rapid fire. Both boards are FST construction.

Comment

Ah ok can you post a pic? I have a footwell in my sub scorcher buts is a fairly smooth indentation and nothing that would cause me concern.

Comment