Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help a newbie! Baked Potato? Potatonator? Which size?

Hello, i am a newbie here and i am looking for some help from you.

I am from germany, 36 years old, 6 large (182cm) and weight about 165 us-pounds (75kg).
    Up to now i only surfed in holidays (4-5 times for 1-2 weeks) on the canary islands.
    My skill is between beginner and Intermediate, but more beginner a guess.
    Takeoff in green waves is no big problem, but no "tricks" like buttom turns or cut backs.
    But i want to become better and buy a hybrid or pure stoke board.
    I want to go surf in the baltic sea (only sometimes small wind-waves :-( no ground swell),
    Denmark (Northsea with groundswell 1-4 on good days) and of course in holidays
    in portugal, france or the canary islands too.

A friend of mine that i know from skateboard sessions who surfs about 15 years
    told me to buy a fish or hybrid board, because i dont want to buy a longboard or minimali.
    He has a Sweet Potato FST in 56 for small conditions and is very pleased with that.
    A few weeks ago a saw him in the baltic sea with that board and he really had his fun.
    For the bad conditions of course ;-)
    He has got another Firewire Board (the dominator i guess) and he is contently with that too
    and told me to look maybe for a FW Board.

I am uncertainly looking for a baked potato maybe in 5,9 or 5,11 or a potatonator in 6,6 or 6,8
    because of my low skill and the bad conditions in my environment.

What do you think about this selection???

At the frequency you surf an the conditions you will encounter,I would look towards the Addvance

Comment

Thanks for your first replies!

Yes, i used the volume calculator.
      With skill level: beginner / intermediate, fitness: average = 44-49 liters
      with fitness excellent = 40-44
      So, i think 44 liters would be a good choice.