Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chubby Cheddar vs Unibrow( vs Spitfire)

Hi guys I am new to Firewire and am looking for advices: i have been surfing regularly for 20 years, back foot,weigh185/200 pounds and 6'2 tall. I normally surf 6'3X19 1/2X2 1/2 33 liters Wayne Linch surftech for the small to medium surf, i have a 5'10 epoxy rocket fish(40/45 liters) that does well in the crappy mushy surf. I bought a 6'5 PU Fort Knox recently, good board but really does well in the clean overhead surf, not an everyday board. I was thinking of buying a board that does well from 1/2 ft mush to 3/4 ft clean, but it looks like you need 2 boards to cover that. I was really keen on the Chubby cheddar 6'1/6'2 similar to the Fred Rubble from what i have seen; but as a back foot maybe the Unibrow makes more sense. Also i like a good paddling board without to much rocker to keep good speed and fly on flat sections. What do you guys think? I really like the outline of the Chubby vs the Unibrow, and i am looking for the paddling ability of the Dominator/Spitfire. I live far from a test center unfortunatly. Thanks for your help. Gautier.

Hey mate,

Sounds to me like you are right in looking at the chubby. I have one and have found it has made me better at surfing on my back foot as it has a very refined whippy tail. I love the outline of this board and its pretty flat most of the way in from the nose so it paddles well but yeh really nice rails and thinness to the tail with quite a lot of rocker there makes it great on the back foot and just super fun to surf.

I would say below 2ft this board starts to struggle especially if you have it in your mid volume range or below but it goes really well in 2-5ft+.