Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6' 8" Dominator, too big or too small?

Hi,

I've been offered a 2nd hand Dominator FST in 6' 8"

I'm pretty new to surfing, been doing it around 3 years, but only get to go 10-15 times a year due to location in UK.

I'm an advanced level skateboarder and snowboarder (over 20 years experience), surfing wise I've been riding Mini Mals and I get most waves I go for, and am starting to travel across the line both ways, though the waves I've been riding recently close out pretty quick.

In the right waves (Sri Lanka) due to my skating experience as soon as I was up on the wave everything made sense and I felt totally comfortable, though this was a while ago and I didn't try to turn much.

I'm from the UK, the waves we get are relatively small and usually messy, though planning a trip to Barbados later in the year.

I'm 39, 82.5kg / 182 lbs, relatively fit.

I worry that both the board is too small (moving down from a Mal too soon) and too big (everyone on here seems to say ride it shorter than you think).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

R

No I think you will be fine with the 6'8. You are moving towards a regular short board shape and a 6'8 has to be more HP than any Mini Mal I have seen....thats all positive....do it....do it.

Comment

Yeah it'll serve as a good transitional board but you may find yourself wanting to down size at some point as you get more and more confident/surf more often.

Comment

I'm more at 'reserves' skill level than the other two and have been looking for a transition down board myself.