Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Firewire and first shortboard, another size query!

Hey all. So currently I'm riding a 6'8" 7S superfish and am looking to downsize. I'm 24, 5'11", 76kg and reasonably fit. I have been surfing for about 3 years now on and off and I would say I'm at an early intermediate level. Never any problems catching waves on what I'm riding now, and once I'm up I carve up and down the face no problem. No snappy top turns or big cut backs yet so think early intermediate is about right?

I surf anything from knee high to head and a half. Head high is about my comfortable limit but like pushing myself out in the slightly bigger stuff. The new board will be for a bit of surfing in Cornwall for the rest of this year and then for next year when I'll be travelling around France, Spain, Portugal and Morocco for a few months followed by another Bali trip then some time in WA.

I like the looks of the Dominator and was originally thinking about a 6'4" but a friend of mine reckons I could go a bit shorter so looking for a few more opinions? I also came across some people recommending the Spitfire over the Dominator. Is this another possibility for me?

Personally I'd put you on a 6'2 Alternator or a 5'10" Dominator/Spitfire.
    At your age and size those boards should be no problem.

I have a friend who is around your size and still pretty much a beginner and he's catching waves and going down the line on a 510 Dominator no problem.

Comment

Wow that's a lot shorter than I was thinking, glad I asked the question! I'm leaning towards either a Spitfire or Dominator because of the fin setup and because I think they will fit my style and ability a bit better. An alternator would suit me after this board or possibly a few months down the line as an additional board I think.

Thanks for the advice.

Comment