Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dominator or Unibrow

Hi Guys

I'm a beginner/intermediate 73kg, 47yrs. My biggest issue is paddling in to waves, I dont seem to have quite the strength to paddle like I should anymore. I've got a 33L Dominator already that is my favorite board but I'd like to go down to 31L as its a bit big for me to deep duck dive.

Should I go for another Dom/Spit or go for a Unibrow? It would be for 4ft-6ft waves. Ive got a HPSB thruster already thats 6'4"x 19" x 2 3/8", I think I might be struggling because its got quite a bit of rocker.

Unibrow would be good, especially if you are keeping the bigger Dom. If you need to shift the Dom first, dropping down a size could be a safe bet as you love the board.

Comment

4-6 ft is not dominator.. thats getting into the upper end of the uni as well

Comment

My local point break always seems to have rogue set around the 6ft size even on a 3ft day. I'd say maybe 3-5ft is more accurate plus its an aspiration, my normall size is prob 2-4ft but I need to get out in the bigger stuff more regularly

Comment

You might consider a CC if you're looking to surf 4-6ft waves. But since you already have a thruster, if you want something different, the Unibrow would be a good option. Take out the Unibrow on the 3- 4ft days and your thruster for when it gets bigger.

- Firewire Intern Josh

Comment

Unibrow would be the way to go. I'd suggest in the same length as your Dom. I find the UB perfect from around waist to 1.5x overhead. It easily surfs 2x overhead (and likely more) but its not its ideal range. I'm super confident a UB will cover your intended wave range and purposes.

Comment

Thanks for the replies, how much harder is the Unibrow than the Dominator paddling in to waves? I guess a touch harder because ther isn't quite as much volume but not much?

Comment