X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6'8" dominator review

I have had my 6'8" for 3 weeks now and it has taken me a while to feel positive about my purchase. I owned a 6'4" dom about 12 months ago and i rode it in good waves and didnt like it, so i sold it. I am 54 yrs old, 6'3" and 100kg. I have been surfing for over 40 years and was once a good surfer, age and lack of fitness has slowed me down but every now and then i can still get it together.
    I was thinking today that the main reason for my lack of enthusiasm for my Firewire's was that i also ride an MR 6'6" flying fish and a 6'10" Simon Anderson Mollusc. Both of these boards are Tuflites and they are both sensational surfboards.
    My first surf on the 6'4" i could not get the drive and speed i get on my MR. Today and yesterday i realised that the dom is meant to be ridden differently than my other boards. I am a very front footed goofy, due to our waves being generally fat and slow, and the right leg being the dominant one, for me at least.
    So i was looking for a board between the 6'6' and the 6'10', i have always loved round pin tails and was drawn again to the dominator outline, and the very generous volume. The 6'8' is heavier than my tuflites which is a good thing for lumps and bumps on waves and strong offshore winds.
    Yesterday i surfed overhead sideshore lefts, with some nice clean inside walls on a left reef. It was my 3rd surf on my 6'8" and there is no doubt it goes fast. I wouldnt say it paddles into waves really easily but it is not bad. I flew along one clean wall and tried to do a mid face carve, but i was steering the board with my front foot and i went over the handle bars. I cant really explain what i did but i know i didnt initiate the turn off the back foot.