X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to hybrids

Hi all. Trying to figure out what board I should get. I’m 42 years, 186cm and 82kg (surf a lot in 5-6mm so 85kg if more accurate). I have zero experience on the “new” shorter volume packed hybrid boards.

My new board needs to work well in small to medium sized waves. When I travel (mostly Ireland and Scotland) I want to bring this new board along with my 608 round pin so it needs to work well in small to medium surf. I would like to bring my longboard but it sucks to travel with it and softracks leads rain into the rental cars. The Dominator seems to be a good choice by the reviews, and the full outline looks great too. The Potatoes looks fun but I’m afraid they will be hard to surf if the waves are fast, lined up and peeling. Will the Dominator hold better in faster down the line waves? And what size will I need? Think I prefer some extra volume to be on the safe side and for easiness in weak surf so I looking at 601 or 602. Other options like Double Agent, Hellfire etc? What’s your opinion?

Cheers
    Jimmy

The Dominator or Spitfire are a great start Jim - but 6'2" will be way over sized and you'll find it working against you (unless you want an ultra cruisey ride) The biggest I would go is 6'0" for your weight. Depending how good you surf you could easily ride a 5'10" in this shape. I rode a 6'0" at 95kg down to 1ft no worries catching waves. The 6'2" was way to big and difficult to ride.
    So many choices! but if you like the look of the Dom stick with it

Comment

I'm with goanna. A 510 dominator will be perfect. Any bigger will be a hindrance.

Comment