X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• # vs Md

Ive been surfing my minnie driver 6-4 for the last 14 months, its a great board that goes great in most conditions! the only problem i find with it it has really bulky rails... will the hashtag be a easier board to do in the pocket turns and does it have more refined rails?

Worth looking at the hashtag. I think it has more rocker, especially through the tail compared to the MD. The rails are pretty refined but the centreline thickness is greater.

Comment

Sounds like you're looking for something more along the lines of the HZ if you want that refined shape and in the pocket response...

-FIJ

Comment

My local shop just got their shipment of new FireWire's in, so I had a chance to compare the # and MD side-by-side (as I had been debating between the two myself). Besides the already stated step-down rails on the #, the overall outline is much more elliptical, the tail is more pulled in, and the shape gives me the impression that it will be great at pocket turns. Looking at both in person, I can only assume that the # will be a more Hi performance board, while the MD will probably be a bit more versatile in less-than stellar waves.
        rail shape does seem more 'refined', but I haven't ridden a board with the step-down rails. So I can't really comment on them. If my board order hadn't gotten messed up, I would have a new # in the water by now. Hoping to (finally) get my # this weekend and get some waves on it! I'm also looking forward to typing up my initial impressions for you guys.

Comment