Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• right volume 34 years old intermediate surfer

Hi guys,

I'm an Italian 34 years old intermediate (I guess :) ) surfer and I have just ordered a 5 10 Hellfire.
    I m 1,70 cm and I weight 67 kg, fit I reckon.

Being the board 29,4 liters I was wondering if the volume I have chosen it is the right one to help me improving my surf or if maybe it is too much volume for my weight.

I have been surfing for 4 years now but being honest just since august 2012, after moving to Portugal, I have been surfing pretty much every day and I have started improving my surf.
    I have been surfing with my first short board for 8 months (a Pyzel, Pyzalien 5 10 19 2 1/4 28,5 liters) and with it I have started pumping for speed, doing my first cutbacks and trying some rientry (those are the only things I'm able to do). I surf normally waves from 2 feet until 6 and this surfboard was handling this kind of conditions.
    I have ordered the Hellfire 5 10 considering my age and my level but after reading your older post about the Hellfire and after trying a surfboard Lost V2 rocket 5 8 (that was 29,6 l) I thought that I have maybe done the wrong things because I saw that firewire users of my weight in this community are using the hellfire 5 8.

Do you think that this surfboard, even if I weight 67 kg, considering my age and my level, can help meto improve my surf and to start doing some real off the lip and carve :) or I should go for something with less volume?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers guys and good surf to all of you.

Carlo

Think 5.8 is a safer bet for 67 kg especially if you want it for the better days and you have an other board to cover small and weak waves.You can try also volume calculator to find your optimum volume.If V2 with 29.6 l is ok for you you can go with HF 5.10 29.4 for one board quiver because is more performance.Good luck.

Comment