X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MB, 5'8 or 5'10...?

I've been surfing Firewire boards for a few years now and lovin' them: riding my 5'8 Stealth in anything from waist-high to overhead and am looking to keep this one but also get a more standard high perf shortboard for the steeper waves.
    I've been going back and forth between ordering a thiner 5'8 or a thinner 5'10 MB... I haven't been able to hold one so it's a bit hard to picture the actual volume of the board : rails, thickness through nose and tails, etc.
    I'm 5'8, 145 pounds, surf almost everyday.
    My standard shortboards are usually 5'10 or 5'11, 18 3/8" by 2 3/16" and pretty much look like CI MBM+.
    If you guys who've seen the board can help me out it'd be great!
    Many thanks,

i think you might like the thinner version of the Michel Bourez pro??

What do you think??

Have a look!!
    http://www.firewiresurfboards.com/qu...=michel_bourez

Comment

Thanks Chris,
      I think the thinner version would definitely be best, but I'm going back and forth between the 5'8 and 5'10... It is recommended to ride it 2" shorter than my usual shortboard, which makes me want to go for the 5'8; but with the increased rocker and lower volume I'm concerned that I may loose too much paddle power. On the other hand, the 5'10 seems a bit too much foam, even in the thinner version...
      It's hard to decide when you don't get to hold the board and feel the volume for yourself!
      Has anyone ridden the 5'8 and could give feedback?
      Many thanks

Originally posted by Chris View Post
      i think you might like the thinner version of the Michel Bourez pro??

What do you think??

Have a look!!
      http://www.firewiresurfboards.com/qu...=michel_bourez

Comment

Hmm toughy, you probably fall right in the middle of the two. I'd say 510 for maximum versatility or 508 for maximum ripping when the waves are good.

Comment