Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New board advice !

Hi everyone!

Looking for some advice on purchasing my new board.
    To start with, the usual info:

Weight: 80kg
    Height: 187cm
    Level: Beginner+ / Intermediate-
    Typical waves: Manly and Bondi beach break NSW. 1-6ft.

What have I been surfing so far and my experience:

1) Started out on a 6.10" Addvance in RF technology. Loved the 'spring' feeling of the board. Easy to paddle. Nice to be able to take of on a 0.5ft bump :), but quickly got a feeling it had to much volume. Sold this board about 1 year ago. Being a beginner I did not feel comfortable even trying on anything overhead.

2) 6'6 MR Flying Fish - Tuflite Epoxy. Floaty. Fast. Easier to paddle then the addvance but also more difficult with takeoffs. Feels very 'corky' on the water. Only had this surfboard for a few months and had to sell due to relocation.

3) 6'8 7S Superfish - X2 Epoxy. Bought this trying to get 'back into surfing' after a few months break. Felt very similar to my MR 6'6 .. but to floaty. Impossible to dive. And still having problems with late/steep takeoffs.

4) 6'4 NSP Fish - Epoxy. My girlfriends board.. started using it as the 7S just felt to big. Was surprised how well the NSP floated. Board seem to have a very 'cheap' plastic feel to it .. does not look anything like tuflite or other epoxy i have seen and seems to float even more. It's a cheap board and it uses its own fin system.. but so far it has been the best board I ridden together with the addvance.

Now some time has passed and I have finally started to progress my surfing a bit .. and remembering how much I enjoyed the 'spring' feeling of the addvance when I first started surfing, I'm now looking into getting a proper FW board again!

Just spent some time in bali surfing 3-5ft reef breaks. But I was mainly using bigger fun boards.