X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potatonator or Baked Potato?

Hi, Guys. Thinking about getting either the Potatonator or Baked Potato. I'm 5'8", 145 lbs and ride mostly at the Rocakaways, NY. Right now, I'm riding a board a friend gave me. It's 6'8" x 19" x 2.5/8". It's got a real pulled in nose and tail with lots of rocker. Not ideal for a beginner but I can ride it. I want to get a board that has more volume so I've been checking out the 6'1" BP and the 6'6" Potatonator. So far I'm just riding down the line, no hacks at the lip or anything but I hope to someday. I would really like more help paddling into these 1-4ft. mushy waves. It seems the more volume the better, right? Am I going too big? Are either of these boards right for me? I would appreciate any input. Thanks!

hi steve,

as a beginner, I think youre looking at the wrong boards and wayyyy too much volume for your weight. I think you would absolutely max out on a 6' potatonator.

instead, I would suggest looking at a 6'6" addvance.

Comment

• steve sasser
      steve sasser commented
      Editing a comment
      justo, man. thanks so much for steering me in another direction. I am checking out the aadvance now.

Hi mate justo is spot on with the 606 been way too much vol. I would look at 508 it's the same height as yourself and heeps of float. It's fair bit wider that your current board so more stable. You will be able to manover much easer and encourage to try and be more top to bottom.

Comment

steve sasser yes too big. I'm 5'8, 175 lbs and i would ride a 5'3 baked. I hate to say this but an Addvance or submoon would be a better choice. However, if you still want a BP or Pnator, i would recommend the BP 5'3. A 5'1 BP would be better for your weight but its more for inter/advance.

ALOHA!!

Comment