X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner's Sizing?

Hi guys! been going through topics similar to this on the forums for weeks now yet couldn't find an answer to fit my dimensions+skill level..
    I've been zero-ing in on purchasing a Firewire Potatonator as my first factory board.
    I'm a beginner-intermediate surfer (probably leaning more towards beginner), looking to make the transition into catching unbroken waves and carving more sharply than with a funboard/softboard.

I'm 21 years old, 5 foot 8.5 inches and 141-142 pounds and was wondering what size should I get my Potatonator at?
    I'm a pretty decent Snowboarder and that helped me get the hang of surfing quite quickly, so I'm looking for a board I can "grow with" and that'll allow me to advance my abilities and not having to replace it once I get the hang of carving/catching unbroken waves. (i.e. not inhibit executing maneuvers in the future)

I've also been pondering whether I should buy a Spitfire/Dominator instead but I surf mainly 2-5 foot waves which is what pushed me in the Potatonator's direction in the first place. (And they're mushy quite often).
    The volume calculator says to go with a 5"8 but the length/volume kinda spook me, the only non funboard/softboard I ever tried surfing on was a 6"3.. So maybe a 5"10 would be better?
    I read nottyR6's review and don't want to end up going too small.

Thank you for your assistance! (btw, first thread here!)