X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stuck on sizing and spitfire/dominator choice

I'm looking at getting at getting a firewire, and since my local shop that stocks them isn't that knowledgable, I'd be stoked for some feedback here.

I'm an intermediate surfer (comfortable up to just overhead, can trim down the line, slowly learning to pump properly to generate speed, and can make some mellow turns on the face) living in Vancouver (so I can't surf all that regularly). I've been surfing for 6-7 years but never consistently so my progression has been fairly slow. I've owned a number of used boards, and right now have a big guys short board (6,6 x 20.25 x 2.5) for when it's small/average and an old 6,1 thin, narrow wade tokoro shortboard for the few days when it's pumping which my brother gave me. There is also a good chance I may sell those two boards to help pay for this.

I've ridden a couple of the shorter, fatter hybrids and been really stoked on them so am pretty much set on either a dominator or a spitfire as a "do it all" board, leaving the wade tokoro for a the rare days when it's wayy overhead. (I'm also for sure not a good enough surfer yet to really make the most of it). I'm about 6foot, 22yo, 159lbs and being in the NW i'm always in a full wintersuit, boots, gloves, hood etc