X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spitfire vs.

posted this on the dom thread and got no help....

I'm a beginner. Riding a 610 Addvance now and trying to figure out what the next board should be. I'm 5'10 195lbs. in NJ. I love the Addvance but it's the only thing I've ridden besides the 8ft foam board that I started on. I'd like to take the next step down. I have spent a ton of time researching and I was leaning towards the spitfire 604 or 602 but was also reading really good things about the white diamond and coil. (m80)? I don't know much about the coils but everyone seems to praise them in the same manner firewire is praised. Has anyone ridden all 3

I've not ridden all 3. But, the spitfire is an AWESOME board. When I was 200lb I was riding the 600 spitfire with ease. I was contemplating dropping down to a 510. Alas, i'm now 220lb and my board sizes are beginning to blow out just like me... haha

When you say "beginner" how is your surfing. Are you popping up quickly? Are you able to do top and bottom turns with the occasional cut back? If yes, i'd put you in the intermediate category and I would also say the thing holding you back is your board. I think a 602 SF would be a really good option. If you want to progress even further you could look at a 600. All this also depends on the waves you are riding. The SF is good in knee to waist, excellent in waist to just over head high, and is again OK in over head waves. It's a true all rounder. If the waves are generally mushy I'd go the 602, if they're a bit more powerful, you should get the 600.