X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spitfire sizing delima

Hi all Another size problem I'm going to get a spitfire timber tec in either 600 or 602. I was planning on getting the 600 but the surf shop owner is trying to convince me to get a 602 or even a 604. He thinks that the size charts on here are more geared to the experienced surfers I'm 5'11 and about 83 kg (180lbs) I am a advanced beginner surfer and want something to progress my skills to be more fluent in making turns. I'm not the strongest paddler going around but also want this to improve. Will be surfing a mix of beach and point breaks around the waist to head high Any help would be greatly appreciated Cheers

You were correct. A 600 for your weight is good for a high level beginner. You could look at a 510 and also be ok. Based on a GF of .42 you should be on between 34 and 35 litres.

Comment

I'm same size as jd494949 and have over 40 years of experience on short boards. Size and volume depends on purpose - is it for small beach breaks? or a general everyday board? I've got a 6'4" spitfire that hasn't been wet for a couple of months due to a submoon. I have always gone to the top end according to volume calculator particularly for a small wave board as they have less push and the crowd factor in sub 4 foot is another problem. Hence submoon in summer crowds is fabulous and in small winter waves the spitfire will be used. You can only surf waves IF you can beat the crowd to catch them and volume, if distributed properly, will allow this!

Comment

Jambo. This will be a bit of an every day board that I will be used in a variety of waves up to head high. Crowds aren't a huge issue for me most of the time

Comment