X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unibrow for wave count and face time?

I'm 6' 1" 185lbs 44 years old, solid Intermediate maybe intermediate+ decent physical shape. I've been surfing off and on for about 30 years, mostly on cheap or ill-fitting boards, either under volumed narrow shortboards or big clunky eggs. I've recently fallen back in love with surfing and am pretty stoked on the revolution that the dominator has created. I wish these types of boards were around when I was first learning.

Anyway, I'm looking to get a board that will up my wave count and simply give me more time on the face, but something that is still designed for performance. I'm thinking along the lines of a Unibrow 6' 4" or 6' 6" or a hellfire/hellrazer with similar volume. Also looking at the vanguard around 5' 11" or so. There are so many options in the Firewire lineup it's hard to know where to start.

Most of my surfing will be mushy to decent, chest to overhead, southern cali beach breaks. I demoed a 6' 6" dominator in 2-3 ft. weak mush and loved the paddle power but it felt a little clunky. Part of it was probably the crappy surf. My current go to board is a 6' 8" degree33 thruster. It's fine when I'm up on a clean face but I want something with a little more groveling power.

Anyway, just looking for general suggestions.

Thanks

zgott, sounds like you tried a giant Dominator for your size. At 180, I was riding a 5'10 and then went down to a 5'8. I recommend that you demo a 6'0 or even a 5'10 to experience the Dominator properly.

But to answer your original question, yes, the Unibrow is a great board for both small/weak conditions and it works really well when the waves pick up. I think that it has replaced a lot of Dominators out there. Don't go too big though.

Comment