Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Most beginner friendly board for 4ft+? UB, MD or HF ?

Hi,

Early 30s, 80kg, 6'2ft tall. Total Beginner. Currently riding 5'7 BP in small stuff and 6'2 SF once it gets a bit more steep/fast.

Looking for a 3rd board to complement my quiver. Want it to work in as steep/fast waves as possible without loosing 'friendlyness' and stability for my skill level.
    It seems like many of the more refined boards with more rocker also have thinner rails and require a more advanced surfer?

I think 35-38 liters should be more then enough for steeper waves as I can easily paddle my 38.5 liter SF into small 2ft waves ? From a pure volume/paddling perspective i would not mind going even for the lower mid 30's but I recon these boards will just be to 'wobbly' to surf even if I can catch waves.

So a low volume but stable (if that can co-exists?) board would be preferred. And good rocker to fit hollow/sucky stuff.

Also want to take the board for a longer indo trip in December.

Thanks!

I think all of the boards you have named would do very well for you. The unibrow will be closer to the SF in terms of dimensions as it's thicker and with a wider tail than the HF. I'd probably go for the MD though. Especially if it's for an Indo trip. The MD was designed for indo waves. Forward wide point, low entry rocker, and pulled in tail. All this equates to an easy paddling, fast board, with good hold in steep and hollow waves.

Comment

6'4UB and MD look almost identical on board compare. Which one would have more entry rocker ?

Comment

MD has more nose rocker, more of a forward outline as well as a more pulled in tail (compared my 510 UB with the same length MD) wish i had the MD

Comment

Defo go the minidriver or a lost rock up but no FST in that one. yet ??????

Comment

wah!!! lost rock up??? we have them now?

Comment

Thanks for the feedback.