X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unibrow, Dom, Spit or?

I've got a 6' 0" Potatonator which I really enjoy, however I don't think I need the thickness when I'm up on it.

I'm 40, 79kg / 175 lbs. I'd say I'm an advanced beginner, I'm a good skateboarder / snowboarder, so plenty of board experience.

I also have a 6' 10" Addvance, this is really floaty but helps when the waves are terrible or I haven't surfed in a while.

I've been trying friends boards recently and I think I can get away with a tiny bit less volume, but most importantly I want my board to have more of a 'skate' feel but without sacrificing waves (i'm not the best paddler and only surf once a month if lucky). I don't feel very 'connected' to the wave on the Potatonator, is that cos it's a thick Hybrid?

I would probably keep the Addvance & the Potatonator but interested in adding another board.

I surf my local break in the UK Brighton when I can, waves are mushy, weak and pretty bad. However I surf Devon more in the summer where the wave quality is good.

Was thinking a Dom might feel too much like the Potatonator, so was considering either Unibrow or Spitfire? Appreciate any thoughts.

I've got a 5'9" Uni, and I've tried my friend's 5'8 Dom and Potatonator. Considering what the waves are like in Brighton, I think your best bet is a Dominator because it would work in Brighton and still be great down in the South West. Plus it's easy to paddle. My friend's 5'8" felt more than enough in terms of volume (I'm 76kg, 6ft and 34), so don't go too big. I've got a 6'2" fake Dom, and it's wayyyyyyyyy too big for me. I know a lot of people in Cornwall who ride a Dom, so it would be fine down that way. The Unibrow is a great board, but it needs a little punch in the waves to get the best from it.

Comment

Hey,

Thanks for your reply.

Do you think will a Dom feel a lot different to my Potatonator?