X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• waves best for v4

hi, was wanting to know if the v4 still performs in less than perfect waves, and if it will surf well in beach breaks. i love the look of this board but cant find a demo or used board. need some advice.
    cheers

i've been riding it everyday for 6 months (or since whenever the VG broke??).. ..vg great in everything with an expert touch needed when slabby or huge.. v4 easier in slabby or huge as long as its smooth but requires finesse in flat or bumpy stuff... both are winners... vg has built in speed in average stuff, v4 needs you to generate the speed...

Comment

Sweet. Thanks for the quick response. When you say you have to generate your own speed, how does that compare to a regular hpsb? And does the v4 still turn as critical as a hpsb?

Comment

the vg will fly forward even if you stand still..!!.. the v4 needs you to pump and drive the same as a normal hi-perf board...(like a fast one tho).. turns more critically than the curviest rockered board because its so short but with more glide and speed... full performance that will keep that up as the waves get worse...best of both worlds... so is the vg tho......

Comment

sweet, just what i wanted to hear. thats enough for me to put an order in, just one last question LFT or FST? leaning towards LFT just for the fact that i havent tried it out yet.

Comment

thats a personal thing really... i'm a rapidfire guy so would replace mine in lft, like i am with the vg... if you like the fst experience then stick with it.. the rapidfire/lft feel is a more direct/snappy flex and lighter.. the fst is heavier(but still light) with a softer more dampened flex... usually, lighter guys like the fst and us heavier guys get a more lively spring from rapidfire... but thats just a generalization.. both make conventional boards old news....

Comment

note to self.. take feet off V4 when dropping into a dry ledge... Attachment

Comment