X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• more release

Dan - I've been riding a Dominator for about 4 months now and I'm really impressed with the board. One thing I'd like more of is release. At the moment of take-off I could use a bit more get-up and go, so I'm thinking the Spitfire, with it's wider tailblock, would be the ticket. I'd try one myself to find out for sure but I'm in a remote area with no opportunity to demo. Thoughts ?

What fins are you using? Board size? Your height/weight?

Comment

quad - front fins m-5 fiberglass, rear fins fcs prototype similiar to YU's fiberglass. Riding a 6' Dominator - I'm 5'8' 150 lbs - older guy surfing on a regular basis for a looong time.

Comment

• Phill
        Phill commented
        Editing a comment
        We'll you could def play with fins to tune it up for more drive/release. What foil is on those quad rears?

The spitfire would push you in the right direction. The straighter rail line off the tail and wider tail block area will get you what you're looking for, plus the step rail in the tail will no doubt help with managing all that volume at your weight.

If you're looking to replace the board I think the Spitfire or even the Hellfire are good picks, but if you'd rather spend less, tweaking fins would help get your current board closer. Maybe try the k2.1 quad set.

Hey retired1 :)

Not sure if you're in a similar scenario to me. I've been surfing in South Africa since I was 13, being 43 now... that's a lot of shortboard thrusters through decades of board design change. I have never surfed a board longer than 6'3 being 80-85kgs. I changed to firewire about a year ago and bought a 5'6 Potatonator and 5'11 LSD (Chubby Chedda). To cut a long story short :)

Things I had problems with:
      1. Future Fins (Out of the 5 sets of fins I owned I had to have 4 sets replaced - due to fins being twisted or different cambers)